December 5, Missed Another Collision

Prompt: To wish upon a fallen star…  The prompt can be used any way you choose, and have fun with it.

I don’t believe my family ever taught myself or my brothers and sisters to wish on a falling star, nor do I ever remember doing so. I don’t think I even ever saw a falling star when I was growing up, so it wasn’t something I thought about.

As an adult, I have seen falling stars before. Since I don’t wish upon falling stars and I didn’t teach my children that either, I thought I would look up what it is.

When a ‘star’ appears to fall from the sky, what that is (in layman’s terms) is debris from a comet as it’s going around the sun. The orbit of the comet and the orbit of Earth cross paths. As that particle hits Earth’s atmosphere it falls toward Earth, but burns up before it hits. If it doesn’t burn up before it hits the ground, then that bit that is left is known as a meteorite.

If you feel the need to wish upon a falling star which is really only debris in the sky, why not find some dust under your bed instead and you can wish on that every day. (My humor needs a bit of work, don’t you think?)

http://starchild.gsfc.nasa.gov/docs/StarChild/questions/question12.html

 

2 Comments

Filed under Falling star, Posting, wishing

2 responses to “December 5, Missed Another Collision

  1. Normally I don’t read post on blogs, however I would like to say that this write-up very compelled me to take a look at and do so! Your writing style has been surprised me. Thank you, quite great post.

I'm interested in your thoughts

